George E. Hrabovsky

President of MAST



Background: I am a "professional" amateur scientist. For nearly thirty years I have been studying astronomy, atmospheric science, biochemistry, chemistry, computer science, electrical engineering, engineering science, mathematics, microbiology, and physics. I have presented papers at two international conferences; one was entitled, "Time Series Analysis of GRB 673," at a Meeting of the American Astronomical Society (here in Madison, Wisconsin) detailing research I conducted while appointed to a research group at the University of Wisconsin Department of Physics. The other was at a World Mathematica Meeting (held in Chicago), where I presented a paper entitled, "Using Mathematica in Tutoring Physics Students." During the years 1998 and 1999 I served as Chair to the Theory Discussion Group at the Department of Physics for the Unversity of Wisconsin. I have given over thirty scientific talks at the University of Wisconsin Physics Department. I also perform a lot of tornado spotter training seminars (at least four each year). I am also an accredited Mathematica consultant and trainer. I write two weekly columns, "The Mind of a Theorist," and "The Mathematics Corner."

Interests: I currently do research on: theoretical physics, mathematical physics, computational physics, compact objects (black holes, gamma ray bursters, neutron stars, and white dwarfs), gravitation (both classical and quantum), field theory (both classical and quantum), quantum computation, dynamical systems theory, tornado physics, science education, microbiology, biochemistry, and several other areas of somewhat lesser interest.

Memberships: American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT), American Mathematical Society (AMS), American Physical Society (APS), and the Society for Amateur Scientists (SAS).

Honors: 2003 Public Service Award from the National Weather Service Central Region, 2001 Wisconsin Republican of the Year, 2002 Wisconsin Businessman of the Year (National Republican Congressional Committee), Honorary Chair of the NRCC Business Advisory Council, Honorary Member of the Presidential Business Advisory Board, and Holder of the Republican Gold Medal.

Click here to return to the member page.

Click here to return to the home page.